© 2013 Christoph. All rights reserved.

Hooverphonic – A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular [full album]

Exactly as the title says: Spectacular!

Released July 29, 1996 (Belgium)
Genre Trip hop, electronic, dream pop

A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular is the first album by the Belgian band Hooverphonic when the band was only known as Hoover. It was the only album with singer Liesje Sadonius. The song “2Wicky” was featured in the movies Stealing Beauty by Italian director Bernardo Bertolucci, I Know What You Did Last Summer, and Permanent Midnight. It is based on a loop from Isaac Hayes’ cover of the Burt Bacharach and Hal David penned “Walk On By, and contains sample from Le Voile d’Orphée performed by Pierre Henry.” The singles released from this album are “2Wicky”, “Wardrope”, “Barabas” and “Inhaler”.

The album’s title, A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular, is also the catchphrase of the iconic Japanese Shibuya-kei band Pizzicato Five.

Track listing

1 “Inhaler” (Alex Callier, Raymond Geerts)
2 “2Wicky” (Callier, Geerts, B. Bacharach, H. David, P. Henry)
3 “Wardrope” (Callier, Geerts)
4 “Plus Profond” (Callier)
5 “Barabas” (Callier)
6 “Cinderella” (Callier, Geerts, Frank Duchêne, Liesje Sadonius)
7 “Nr 9” (Callier)
8 “Sarangi” (Callier)
9 “Someone” (Callier, Geerts, Duchêne, Sadonius)
10 “Revolver” (Callier)
11 “Innervoice” (Callier, Geerts)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked:*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.