© 2013 Christoph. All rights reserved.

Mix: Dj Jedi – Blowout Breaks (funk’n jazz)

This just popped up in my life. big like!

Quote from Fader magazine:

“Nineties jazz cats Digable Planets are a natural selection for a “these are the breaks” collection, and here DJ Jedi lets it all bang out with over 70 minutes of the group’s sample sources. Southern California’s Jedi served as the tour DJ when the Digs recently reunited and he nonchalantly cuts their building blocks together. If the Digable Planets are meant for the sunset hours and Butterfly’s soul-rock Cherrywine project is for the blurry past-midnight, then Blowout Breaks for breakfast will get you right for the rest of day. Hearing Shuggie Otis’s “Island Letter” slip into Skull Snaps’ “It’s A New Day” is even better than eggs and bacon on an English muffin with green hot sauce.”

PLAY: Mix: Dj Jedi – Blowout Breaks (funk’n jazz)

01. Hamilton Bohannon – Thoughts & Wishes
02. Lonnie Liston Smith – Devika (Goddess)
03. Kool & The Gang – Summer Madness
04. The Ohio Players – Funky Worm
05. Eddie Harris – Superfluous
06. The Crusaders – Mystique Blues
07. Herbie Hancock – Watermelon Man
08. The Last Poets – Black Is – Chant
09. The Crusaders – Lilies of the Nile
10. Bobbi Humphrey – Blacks and Blues
11. Herbie Mann – Push Push
12. Edwin Starr – Easin’ In
13. Curtis Mayfield – Give Me Your Love (Love Song)
14. Tavares – Bad Times
15. Eddie Harris – Get On Up And Dance
16. KC & The Sunshine Band – Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong
17. The Crusaders – Listen And You’ll See
18. Roy Ayers – We Live In Brooklyn, Baby
19. Digable Planets – May 4th Movement Intro
20. Motherlode – Soft Shell
21. The Meters – Here Comes the Meter Man
22. The Headhunters – God Made Me Funky
23. Fred Wesley & The J.B.’s – Blow Your Head
24. James Brown – Soul Pride (pt. 2)
25. Roy Ayers – Ebony Blaze
26. Shuggie Otis – Island Letter
27. Skull Snaps – It’s A New Day
28. Bob James – Blue Lick
29. Bobbi Humphrey – Jasper Country Man
30. Herbie Hancock – Rain Dance
31. Sonny Rollins – Mambo Bounce
32. Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers – Stretchin’

Credit for the description : http://www.pipomixes.com/

Credit for digging out this great mix : http://500mixes.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked:*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.